The ICC India Arbitration Group (“IAG”) has been formed to reinvigorate the presence of ICC International Court of Arbitration (“ICC Court”) and its dispute resolution services in India. The IAG is chaired by Mr. Ciccu Mukhopadhaya, Senior Advocate and former vice chairman of the ICC Court. The IAG comprises of a mix of eminent jurists, senior counsels, partners at various law firms, general counsels and individual practitioners involved in the arbitration practice.

The IAG will be responsible for spreading awareness of ICC Rules as a preferred choice for commercial dispute resolution through various events and interactions across India by involving arbitration practitioners, general counsels and all concerned stakeholders. Such events would involve organising international/national conferences, workshops, trainings, addressing law firms and general counsels etc.

The IAG has further constituted a Core Committee, Core Advisory Board and the Selection Committee for Arbitrators.

The Core Committee (“CC”) is responsible to assist ICC in coordinating and planning of various events and liasoning with members of the IAG. The CC comprises of the following members:

  • Mr. Ciccu Mukhopadhaya, President, ICC India Arbitration Group; Former Vice President, ICC Court and Senior Advocate, New Delhi
  • Mr. Sanjeev Kapoor, Vice President, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris; Vice President, ICC India Arbitration Group; Partner, Khaitan & Co.
  • Mr. Kunal Vajani, Member, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris, and Head of Chambers, BlackRobe Chambers, New Delhi
  • Ms. Pallavi Shroff, Alternate Member, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris, and Managing Partner, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, New Delhi
  • Mr Imran Khan, Executive Director, ICC India
  • Mr. Abhinav Bhushan, CEO, Asia Pacific, 39 Essex Chambers
  • Mr. Tejus Chauhan, Director, South Asia, ICC Arbitration and ADR
  • Mr. Amar Gupta, Partner, J Sagar, Associates
  • Mr. Lalit Bhasin, Partner, Bhasin & Co., New Delhi
  • Mr. Madhur Baya, Partner, Lex Arbitri
  • Mr. Nakul Dewan, Barrister, 20 Essex Street
  • Mr. Sameer Jain, Partner, PAMASIS
  • Mr. Sonal Kumar Singh, Partner, AK Singh & Co
  • Mr. Tejas Karia, Partner, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas
  • Mr. Ajay Thomas, Independent Arbitrator
  • Mr. Shashank Garg, Partner, Advani & Co., New Delhi

The Core Advisory Board (“CAB”) constitutes of senior members of the fraternity, who by virtue of their experience and expertise, will guide the IAG from time to time. The members of the CAB are as under:

  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice V N Khare, Former Chief Justice, Supreme Court of India
  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice B N Srikrishna, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India
  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice Surinder Nijjar, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India
  • Mr. Ranjit Kumar, Senior Advocate
  • Mr. Fali Nariman, Senior Advocate
  • Mr. Harish Salve, Senior Advocate
  • Mr. Bharat Vasani, Partner, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas & Co., Mumbai
  • Mr. Daniel Sharma, Partner, DLA Piper, Germany